18 May 2012

RNA Romance Novel of the Year Award winner announced

Last night, the Romantic Novelists' Association Awards 2012 were held at the RNA's Summer Party and the awards were given out! Congratulations to all the winners and those nominated in the categories, there were some hard decisions to be made so I don't envy the judges!

Hugest congratulations has to go to Jane Lovering for winning the coveted Romantic Novel of the Year award, taking over the crown from last year's winner Jojo Moyes. Her novel, Please Don't Stop The Music, published by Choc Lit won the prize over her other nominees, congratulations Jane!

The judges said:
“It was a narrow choice between Please Don’t Stop the Music and The Kashmir Shawl [Rosie Thomas] but Jane’s voice was fresh and new with an unexpected hero. It was a romance with dark undertones and it engaged with issues a lot of people recognise. Good humour throughout.”

Anne Ashurst, RNA Chairman said:
“Warmest congratulations to Jane and my personal thanks for making me hoot with laughter. What an achievement to become Romantic Novelist of the Year with one's first novel for talent-spotting publishers Choc Lit! A great read and well-deserved success.”

No comments:

Post a Comment